About OIC

The Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OIC) (formerlyOrganization of the Islamic Conference) has membership of 57 states spread overfour continents. The Organization’s main objective is to safeguard and protectthe interests of the Muslim world in the Arab world, Africa, Central Asia,Southeast Asia and the Indian sub-continent totaling about 5/1 billion people.

The Organization was established upon a decision of the historicalsummit which took place in Rabat, Kingdom of Morocco on 25th September 1969 asa result of criminal arson of Al-Aqsa Mosque in 21st of August 1969to defend the honor and dignity of Muslims in Jerusalem represented byJerusalem and the Dome of the Rock and to find a common ground among allMuslims of various denominations and sects.

In 1970 the first ever meeting of Islamic Conference of ForeignMinister (ICFM) was held in Jeddah to ensure communication between the MemberStates and coordination of work. The organization established GeneralSecretariat and appointed its first Secretary General. Jeddah was also chosenas a temporary headquarter of the organization, pending the liberation ofJerusalem.

In February 1972, the third session of the ICFM adopted the OICcharter which aimed to strengthen Islamic solidarity and cooperation amongMember States in the political, economic, social, cultural and scientificfields. These countries have decided to pull efforts and resources and speakwith one voice to protect their interests and to ensure the progress andprosperity to their peoples and the rest of the Muslim communities around theworld.

The following are the OIC Member States:

Republic of AZERBAIJAN

Hashemite Kingdom of JORDAN

Islamic Republic of AFGHANISTAN

Republic of ALBANIA


Republic of INDONESIA

Republic of UZBEKISTAN

Republic of UGANDA

Islamic Republic of IRAN

Islamic Republic of PAKISTAN

Kingdom of BAHRAIN


People’s Republic of BANGLADESH

Republic of BENIN

BURKINA-FASO (then Upper Volta)

Republic of TAJIKISTAN

Republic of TURKEY


Republic of CHAD

Republic of TOGO

Republic of TUNISIA

People’s Democratic Republic of ALGERIA

Republic of DJIBOUTI


Republic of SENEGAL

Republic of SUDAN

SYRIAN Arab Republic

Republic of SURINAME

Republic of SIERRA LEONE

Republic of SOMALIA

Republic of IRAQ

Sultanate of OMAN

Republic of GABON

Republic of GAMBIA

Republic of GUYANA

Republic of GUINEA



Union of COMOROS

KYRGYZ Republic

State of QATAR

Republic of KAZAKHSTAN

Republic of CAMEROON

Republic of COTE D’IVOIRE

State of KUWAIT

Republic of LEBANON

Great Socialist People’s LIBYAN ARAB JAMAHIRIYA

Republic of MALDIVES

Republic of MALI


Arab Republic of EGYPT

Kingdom of MOROCCO

Islamic Republic of MAURITANIA

Republic of MOZAMBIQUE

Republic of NIGER

Federal Republic of NIGERIA

Republic of YEMEN

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com